Thursday, August 24, 2006

They prefer to be called "little planets"

The international scientific community threw a slap in the face of the planet Pluto by stripping it recently of it's planet status.

Much like my grade school friends and I did to my little brother, astronomers decided Pluto was too small to be a member of the Planet club and kicked it out, leaving only eight official planets now.
“The eight planets are Mercury, Earth, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune,” said the IAU resolution, passed in a raised-hands vote after what, by the discreet standards of the astronomical community, was a stormy debate.
The scientists threw small planets like Pluto a crumb though, inventing a new term called Dwarf Planet, to describe celestial bodies of Pluto's stature.

Of course, it's important to keep in mind that the decision was made only by scientists who have a star on their bellies. The non-star-bellied scientists weren't allowed to vote.

tagged: , , , , , ,

1 comment:

  1. The minute I informed my GF about this, she saw the same thing.

    "If I were a dwarf, that would PISS ME OFF!"

    Pluto isn't a "planet" anymore. It's a "dwarf planet".

    That little person over there isn't a "human" anymore. He's a "dwarf human".


Your turn to riff...